Interview with Reyhan Köse

Reyhan Köse was the first teacher I had in this university and I thought she was really good at her job. It made me curious and I asked her if she would agree to an interview so we could tell you a bit more about her.

How did you decide to be a teacher?
Actually, it wasn’t my decision. I always wanted to be an architect, but unfortunately because of my exam results, it was impossible and I had to study English. When I finished, I was going to work as a tour guide but my father didn’t let me. In my time, for a lady being a teacher was a perfect job. I had to.

You joined the army as a teacher. How was it?
It was such a great experience. Believe it or not, I loved every single minute I spent there except for the period that I was pregnant. It was quite a hard job because they weren’t used to having pregnant females around and I had to quit. They sent me to the US where I got my diploma. But in general, the people were very nice and I believe it contributed a lot to my career.

And then you joined IUE in 2005? How was your first year?
Actually, I was a little bit anxious about the first year here. Because before I started here, I had been working at American University and the system was so different. But when I came here, I realized that this university is a place where you can improve your skills as a teacher and I have had wonderful friends around. Now it feels like a family for me.

What was the weirdest or the funniest thing that has happened to you here?
Let me think about it. Once I forgot to go to class. I was in the office and I was doing some work, everything was OK but I just forgot. The students came to me, but it was too late, so we decided to get coffee together. I totally forgot.

I heard that you are interested in tennis. How did you start?
Well, I guess this is the longest story of my life. I don’t know if it is a sad or a success story. I used to weigh 120 kilos and I wasted a very long period of my life as an obese person. About three years ago, one morning, I got up and I realized that I had to change something, but I didn’t know how to start. Then I was having coffee with a friend and I told her about my health problems, eating a lot, sleeping a lot, etc. And she said I could have diabetes. At that moment, I decided to change something in my life. It was my weight. I worked really hard for eight months and I lost… I tell everybody I lost 55 kilos, but actually I lost 65 kilos…… Then I suddenly was just a normal person again, but my husband still wanted to give me a gift because he thought I had achieved something really special. He bought a membership for me from the tennis club. I had always been interested in sports but I couldn’t even walk. Now I have a new life and tennis is love for me. My new life.

