Interview with Şebnem Ergizler

Şebnem Ergizler is one of those teachers that jump out of a crowd. Full of life, always a smile and a joke, but also there for you whenever you need help. We saw her for the first time on video during the Orientation doing an interview with the rector and loved her from day one. Who is she really?

If you had the chance, would you choose to be a teacher again?
To tell you the truth, when I was young, I never thought about becoming a teacher. At university, I was a training teacher but I also did some other jobs. I worked for ATV’s ‘Siyaset Meydanı’ as a producer, and when I graduated from university, I remainded at ATV for another year. Then I returned to Izmir and told myself ‘OK Şebnem, why not try your own profession?’, so I started teaching at Izmir college, then one year at Çakabey, ten years at IYTE, one year again at Istanbul Yeditepe, and finally, I ended up here at IUE. Right now, I can say that I really love this job.

I know you lived in Istanbul for two years.Was living in Istanbul hard for you?
It was enormously hard. The first time, when I worked for ATV after university, it was great. But at the same time, being away from family, friends and my familiar environment meant everything was so different and difficult. That’s why I came back after a year. Later, when I was married, I went there again with my husband and son. However, we came back again after a year because Istanbul just does not seem to like me and I do not like Istanbul. Living there is just too hard.

Do you have any hobbies? I heard that you like theatre. Did you do this at university?
Yes, when I was in high school (Fatih college), I was in the theatre club for four years. I took part in lots of plays. Now I think of it, earlier you asked me the question if I would choose to be a teacher again. I said yes to that one. However, I think I would rather like to have been an actress, if I had had the chance.

What were you like when you were a student?
That is a very hard question. Hardworking and very social? I think I was a really nice student in the lesson, but I also had great fun.

Do you ever think about living in another country?
No, as I said, my family and my friends play a major role in my life, so I do not even want to think about living away from them. That is why these relationships made me come back to Izmir again and again.

Once you told us, you love being married. How did you meet your husband?
My husband is my sister’s husband’s friend. When we saw each other for the first time, it was kind of love at first sight. We had a great time together, because we were together all the time with my sister and her husband. We got engaged in a year and a year after that we got married. One year later, we had Ata (my son). And still now, after all those years, it is a marriage of love.

