Brave New World – Aldous Huxley

“I don’t want comfort. I want poetry. I want danger. I want freedom. I want sin.”

cover newThroughout history, people have always wondered about the future. When we design a vision of the future in our mind, we use our past experiences and history. What happened in the past and what could happen in the future? We can see this in George Orwell’s 1984 or Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged. The main topics in these books are technological development, governments and controlling people’s minds. These books are not a utopia, these are a dystopia. Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World is another one of these books. It has a very similar topic, but it has way more different perspective. I think Huxley’s prescience is better than Orwell’s, because Orwell thought the government would control people with fear and violence, but Huxley said no, they will control our mind by giving us pleasure.

While I was reading the novel, I found tons of similarities with today’s world and that made me a big fan of Huxley. Also, the similarities scared me a lot. The technological developments, the education system, the laws and the things that we have to do to earn money and live our lives. Our daily routines. All of these are explained with the concept of “conditioning”. Another thing is “soma” which corresponds to today’s drugs. It is given by the government to citizens to make them more relaxed, comfortable, non-emotional people.

I think without our emotions, individualism and free thinking, our world will turn into a darker and ruthless place. Of course, technology and science make our life easier, but we should control ourselves. If the government takes control, they will ruin all the feelings like freedom and love. Brave New World tries to warn people not to give themselves up and not to give their power to the government. You really should read this book!

