Interview with Anıl Uçak

Anıl Uçak is one of the founding members of PACTS. In the classroom, she combines a strong personalty with great teaching skills. That’s why her students love her.

Where are you from? How was your childhood?
I’m from Izmir. My childhood was quite typical. I grew up in a safe environment and I liked playing on the streets. It was good.

Which university did you graduate from?
I graduated from Hacettepe University where I studied English Language and Literature.

Did you like being a student in Ankara?
It was fun being a student. Not necessarily in Ankara because every person from Izmir will tell you that Ankara is very different from Izmir. But you know, when you have friends, you can have fun everywhere.

How did you decide to be a teacher?
It was more a coincidence than a decision because I actually started out working in a different sector, but then I gave up my job because the company decided to relocate and I didn’t want to move to Istanbul. One of my friends from university was working as an English teacher and she told me I should just give it a try. And I did. By now, I have been teaching for over 15 years.

Some teachers have a specific style while they’re teaching. Do you have any special formula?
I believe in having a good rapport with my students. I like them to have fun and enjoy themselves while they are in class. Other then that, my style depends on the profile of the students. I try to adapt to their individual level and personalities.

What was the funniest thing that ever happened in your classroom?
So many things. Once a student fell asleep. He was snoring and we needed four people to wake him up. Then, when he woke up, he got mad at us because we had woken him up. I think that was just about the funniest thing.

What is the most fun activity in the PACTS Office?
I love bowling. Everybody is active, having fun and I love the atmosphere of the competition.

Do you have any dreams for the future or do you ever think about living in another country?
Living in another country is not something I dream about, but I do like travelling, so I would like to visit some more countries when I have the time.

Do you have any special hobbies?
I love cats. You could say I am a real animal lover. I spend a lot of time trying to help them, cats, dogs, it doesn’t matter. I try to volunteer for animal shelters. I also like spending time with my friends. I like being physically active. I try to work-out, I try to take part in team sports such as volleyball as much as I can. I’m fantasizing about doing bungee jumping or paramotor.

