Interview with Gülgün Gökçeler

As your old student, I remember that you loved London so much, can we ask why?

To be honest, London and England have been my dream city and country since I went there. It was the first European city for me. I was amazed because of the many green spaces, the value given to history, the scenery and the people.

You are known for your smile and energy, how do you keep it like that?

I love smiling and I love being positive. If you have positive energy towards people, you receive it in return. This also applies to students. If you are positive and constructive, they understand your intention. Also, working with teenagers and the classroom atmosphere give that energy to me.

What was the funniest experience in class with your students?

The most recent happened when I went to class and one student was in the corner listening to loud music. He did not hear me or see me. Then, when a friend of his warned him, he panicked a bit and he fell from his chair. Later we understood that he sat on a broken chair. Luckily nothing happened, but we laughed together for a while.

If you could choose any other job in the world, what would you want to be?

I think I’d want to be a teacher again. It’s been 15 years now, and this job is like a living organism. Every lesson is a new experience for me.

What do you do in your free time?

In my free time I mostly spend time with my son who is six years old, and I like watching movies.

You know this is the last newsletter of this year, many of us feel sad and at the same time excited for the holidays. What do you feel, how was your year?

Being interviewed for the last issue of this year is exciting. When it comes to this year, to tell the truth, it was a challenging year for me and for my colleagues. Everything was new; a new building, new books, and new classrooms full of technology. It required so much effort, so everybody is looking forward to summer.

Do you have any plans for the summer?

I’m sure, everybody started making plans for the summer. Surely, the word itself creates excitement. As for me, I’m planning to go to Karaburun for a while and spend time with my family there.

What advice do you have for the readers about making good use of their summer time?

They should make maximum use of it. Summer means fresh air, sea, sand, and relaxation. However, they should speak, read, write and listen to English whenever they can.

