Interview with Erasmus Students

The C-level class visits by Erasmus and other International students were such a success that we decided to do an interview with two of them for The Preparatory. With totally different backgrounds, we want to introduce Maheen Siddiqui and Dennis Rodneyand from Pakistan and Germany.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?
MAHEEN: My name is Maheen. I’m from Pakistan. I’m 29 and I’m here for my Masters in Design Management.
DENNIS: My name is Dennis. I’m 26. I’m from Germany. I study Media and Entertainment Management.

What is your home university or department?
MAHEEN: I’ve done my Bachelors in Communication and Design.
DENNIS: My home university is in the Netherlands in Leeuwarden.

How did you decide to come to Turkey and IUE?
MAHEEN: I just wanted to do something productive so I decided to do my masters. I was looking for a course which offered me something that I wanted and IUE happens to offer it.
DENNIS: I have some friends from my university who recommended me to go to Izmir because it is a very beautiful and nice city. It is also cheap. They told me about the programs here.

Do you like being here? (Turkish people, our university..)
MAHEEN: So far it’s been really good, the people are so friendly.
DENNIS: I also enjoy it. In the beginning, I was little bit shocked because people were always staring at me, asking me questions which I wasn’t used to. Now, I’ve seen lot of new people and places and I think it’s really nice.

How long you are going to stay here?
DENNIS: Until January, so only one semester.
MAHEEN: I’m here for longer. Until next year.

What do you expect from your time here?
DENNIS + MAHEEN: Making a lot of new friends and having just a great time to remember.

Have you already found places that you like here?
DENNIS: Cesme and Teleferik.
MAHEEN: I really love Cesme, Alacati. It’s so beautiful.

What do you think about Turkish foods?
DENNIS: I think it’s really nice. I love borek and kofte.
MAHEEN: I like kumru and also midye.

by Elvin Yaşık 

