Charcoal Drawing by Zeynep Şengül

In every Newsletter, we have an art corner dedicated to one talented student in Prep. In this edition, Zeynep Şengül will tell a bit about herself and her art.

image2“My name is Zeynep Şengül, I am 18 years old. I was born in Izmir and I am a student in CST05. My hobbies are playing the piano, cooking, dancing and drawing. I started drawing when my twin sister and I were still very small. My grandmother still keeps all our old drawings in her house. I know they are terrible, but I think it is lovely that she hangs on to them. My favour- ite technique is drawing black and white with a charcoal pencil. I have always preferred drawing portraits because I think you can feel the emotion in every person that you draw. With an object you are just copying, but when you do a face, you can feel how the person experiences an emotion at that moment.”

